Skip to content

Welcome…!

October 12, 2010

 

Welcome to my new blog.  This is where I will be writing about all the things that interest me about an age in our history that  has been termed The Age Of Elegance.  I am referring, of course, to an age that is commonly called The Regency…also Napoleonic, or even Empire.

 

Although the period covered by these terms ranges roughly from 1785 until about 1825, the true Regency began in 1811 when George, Prince of Wales, was appointed Regent, to rule in his father’s place.  The King, George III, had suffered increasingly severe bouts of madness, which culminated in his being deemed unfit to rule, and until his death in 1820, lived his remaining years away from the public gaze.

 

This blog will cover anything from people, places, events, fashions, social…you get the picture…but I won’t be confining myself to the historical era.  Today, there are many events that allow people to induge in their favourite historical age, anything from ancient, Medieval, Tudor, through the ages to the present day (and beyond!), dressing as characters from favourite books or films, and attending festivals, or taking part in re-enactments in order to educate the public…well, that is what they’ve told me, but I know different…lol!  😉

 

A whole new world has been opening up to me since discovering Jane Austen’s Regency World magazine a few years ago which led to the discovery that an annual Jane Austen Festival is held in Bath, and I just had to go…!!  In 2007 , we arrived in Bath to follow the costumed promenade through that beautiful city, and my next ambition was to take part in costume…which I did in 2009.  This year Robert and I both attended in costume, and next year…we will have better costumes, as my experience increases with practice.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 11:53 pm

    The top photo was taken at Newstead Abbey in May, a Napoleonic Association re-enactment, and the lower photo is of myself and Rhiannon in Royal Crescent, Bath, during the Jane Austen Festival’s Grand Regency Promenade last month.

  2. October 13, 2010 9:36 am

    Well, at least this is all saved and posted…I’m not sure about the other bit that I wrote for About, because it had seemingly vanished when I went back to it. If it didn’t save, then I’m going to have to re-write it!
    I hate all this faffing about with new stuff…grrr!

  3. October 13, 2010 10:41 am

    So much to fill in to make a comment.
    Anyway as I was saying on fb, it would appear that Robert has a dress on going by your last sentence.
    Hope this blog is a success for you and fuels your passion.

    • October 13, 2010 11:15 am

      The bottom picture is of myself and Rhiannon in Royal Crescent. Rhiannon and I have been talking costumes on FB for some month now, and sharing links, etc. It was lovely to actually meet her in Bath last month.

Leave a Reply

