Skip to content

A Hundred & One Ways Not To Do It…!

October 18, 2010
20/04/2009 12:22:47
“Do what?!” I hear you cry?!
Well, it’s like this, you see…about three years ago I discovered a magazine…and in that  magazine were photos of an event.  That was it, I was hooked…I subscribed to the magazine, then proceeded to buy all the back numbers…and from then onwards, my head was full of plans and ideas and designs…!
The magazine is Jane Austen’s Regency World, and the event is the annual Jane Austen Festival in Bath, held
every September, and kicking off with the Grand Regency Promenade.
I wanted to go so much, especially in costume, but for all my efforts, had not succeeded to come up with a satisfactory design.  I bought metres of cheap calico to make a toile….and reduced most of it to scraps!!
In 2007 we finally got to attend the Promenade….but not in costume.  It was amazing!  The  atmosphere was
wonderful, and even Robert and his mum enjoyed themselves!  I’ve never had so much fun, talking to all those people who did attend in costume, and following them through the beautiful streets of Georgian Bath.
Anyway, back to my latest efforts to create a costume.  This year, I HAVE to go in costume!!  I want to be part of
the attempt at the Guinness world record for the largest gathering of people in Regency costume, and have (finally) decided what I want to do!
I have already designed the spencer (short jacket), and based it on the one that was worn by Amanda Root as
Ann Elliot in Persuasion.  As was common at the time, I have decided to make a skirt, attached to a small half-bodice, rather than a complete dress….as was worn as part of Walking or Promenade dress and Riding Habits.
So, yesterday evening was spent, while watching Cranford, then Catherine Cookson’s The Rag Nymph on TV,
attempting to copy a pattern from Janet Arnold’s Patterns of Fashion 1…unsuccessfully, and trying a couple more ideas….and in the process turning more calico into a bagful of scraps…!  OK…so I have found plenty of ways not to do it.  It’s only a matter of time before I find the correct way to do it!!  And that time draws ever
nearer…
I must succeed!!  I WILL succeed!!!!
See you in Bath in September….!!!
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 10:48 pm

    This is an old un i presume but still relevant and interesting all the same because i have never read it .XXX

    • October 18, 2010 10:58 pm

      Old blog, yes. I’m just posting the relevant ones on here.
      Thanks for saying that it’s interesting…XXXX

Leave a Reply

