Skip to content

Newstead Abbey NA Weekend

October 28, 2010
01/06/2010 12:15:21

The blog I was going to write, about our day at Newstead Abbey, didn’t materialise due to me simply not having my writing head on, so today I will attempt a quick run-down of it…

On Bank Holiday Monday (3 May) we set out early-ish and headed for Newstead Abbey, near Mansfield, Nottinghamshire.  Although the sky was grey and leaden, the sun was shining, and I was surprised to find that there were not many visitors about.  We wandered about the British camp talking to people and taking photos, then headed back to the car for lunch.  When I tried to remove the film from my SLR, the darned thing snapped, so I opened it up and pulled the film out, then re-loaded.  (What I forgot about was the lack of visitors in all those shots…blast it!!)


Later on we took a wander around the house, then headed around to the field where the battle re-enactment was going to take place.   Here, there was another British encampment and theFrench encampment, side by side.
I had been looking out for some friends, who were taking part…Lisa and Adrian, who I’d met at the Jane Austen Festival last year, and Gavin (who was playing a French soldier this
weekend…(they take it in turns, you know.)


The weather had been very changeable, throughout the day, with sunshine interspersed with rain…and even a couple of very heavy hail showers…!  By the time the battle commenced, my umbrella had been up and down several times!

In all, it had been a great day out, and I was smitten with the world of re-enactment…!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

