Skip to content

Robert’s Costume

October 29, 2010

For this year’s Jane Austen Festival Promenade, I was determined to get a costume made for Robert.  I thought that the shirt and waistcoat would be a doddle, but the trousers and tailcoat would present more of a problem.

The Shirt was made using photographs of an original garment as reference.  Not too difficult, but I did make a mistake when adding the shoulder gussets to the neckband, as I didn’t curve the end, with the result that it didn’t quite sit right.  I know now.

The waistcoat was first made in calico, so that I could work out the collar shape and position…I think I made about three, tweaking and altering each one until I was happy with it.  Then I made it in the gold fabric that I’d bought in Trowbridge the previous year.

All was going according to plan until I got to folding and hemming the bottom…then disaster struck!  Somehow, I managed to cut a chunk out of the corner, and then had to re-do it, taking it up a bit more.  The waistcoat ended up shorter than intended!  Oh well…you live and learn!

For the past year or so, I had been looking for a suitable fabric for the coat, without success.  Lincoln no longer has a good selection of drapers and haberdashers, which is a shame. as needlecrafts are just as popular as ever, with the college doing C&G fashion courses, and patchwork, quilting and dressmaking magazines taking up plenty of shelf-space in newsagents…and they wouldn’t stock them if they weren’t in demand, now, would they!  So, Boyes and the market are all I have to choose from, and the fabrics available in Boyes usually consists of high percentages of man-made fibres!

Time was running out…!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 10:52 am

    Love that tankard picture. Robert looks like he’s upside down!

Leave a Reply

