Skip to content

Chemisette

March 29, 2011

Whilst having a sort-out of the fabric store, I found a piece of fine striped cream cotton that I wish I had a lot more of.  It would have been ideal for a gown, but alas I only had enough for a chemisette…so that is what I decided to make.

I used the Sense & Sensibility pattern as the basis for my chemisette, but instead of making the collar as per the pattern, I created a collar that would then have the frill added to it, something like this…

This example is from the collection of  The Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.

I made the basic chemisette with no problems or hitches, then worked out the collar shape, getting it right first time.

Then came the bit I had been dreading…the frill.  I was bound to make a mess of it now!  Fabric was cut to size and shape, two rows of gathering threads, marked the middle and quarters and pinned it to the collar, pulled up the gathers, and tacked it all in place.  So far, so good…

The frill was sewn onto the collar…still looking good…

Then I noticed a small irritation…the raw edges.  These I covered with a thin strip of fabric, which created another minor irritation…another row of stitches, and some stitches showing along the frill.  Luckily, I had found a small piece of lace that was then sewn along the stitch line, which not only hid it, but distracted the eye from stray stitches also!  Result!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 1:03 pm

    This is actually my second attempt at making a chemisette, because the first one never got finished. It was copied from Janet Arnold’s Patterns of Fashion…will have to attempt to complete it sometime.

Leave a Reply

