Skip to content

Green Corded Bonnet – Part 2

May 22, 2011

Finally…the green corded bonnet is finished!

After stopping and starting several times since November/December, due to little problems like how to work the back piece.  I realised that I should have shaped the corded crown to curve round to meet at the CB, but as I hadn’t done this, I ended up doing it the same as I would a sunbonnet. 

This looked wrong, so I had to devise a way of decorating it to make it look round.  It seemed like a good idea at the time, so I cut a strip of fabric and added piping cord top and bottom, which I then gathered into a circle, tacking a circle in the centre…


After making a start on sewing it onto the back, I realised that this didn’t look right either, so undid it and put my thinking cap on again.  I went back to the blue muslin drawstring dress.

Then I had another idea after flipping through my notebook of ideas…a strip of fabric gathered into puffs around the back.  This would add a bit of interest and hide the slight lop-sidedness of the back piece.  After much undoing and doing again, I was finally satisfied with how it looked.

The next idea was to twist a string of black beads around each puff, but I changed my mind when I pinned the puffs to the back piece using pearl-headed pins…

After all the trials and tribulations, I’m really happy with the finished bonnet!  What do you think?    🙂

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    May 23, 2011 1:48 am

    It looks fantastic! I want one like it. You have a wonderful talent there!
    😉
    -Julia

    • May 23, 2011 3:49 pm

      Thank you Julia.
      With each bonnet I make, I am learning what does and doesn’t work, and have learned one or two things with this one. I am beginning to think that I should, perhaps, have used something to stiffen the brim…maybe wire the piping cord?

    • May 27, 2011 7:44 pm

      This bonnet is now for sale in my Etsy shop, Empire of Grace.

Leave a Reply

