Skip to content

Cream Bonnet Number Two

July 5, 2011

With the green bonnet finished, I decided to go back to the second cream bonnet that I had already started. 

 

The first attempt at a corded Regency bonnet

 

The second attempt

Realising that the back of an Empire/Regency-style bonnet is constructed in a different way to the Victorian sunbonnet, I decided to try to curve the last couple of rows of piping, so that they could be joined at the centre-back, allowing me to insert a round back piece.  The idea was to puff it out, like I did with the first, but I had gathered the back too much, which only left a small circle.  This would have looked a bit silly!

Thinking-cap on, I eventually decided to add a few rows of diagonal piping to the back piece and finish off with an edging of lace.  I also decided that a bow would look sweet, so I started to make one of the same fabric.  This was discarded when it was almost finished when I found a length of satin ribbon that I thought would look better.

The new cream bonnet

It still isn’t quite right, but I think I’m on the right path.  Maybe next time I should make the brim a bit shorter, or add stiffener, as I think it’s too floppy.

With all these criticisms of my first few bonnets, it doesn’t feel quite right asking a higher price for them, just yet.  What do you think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 1:04 pm

    I apologise for the quality of the photo, but the batteries in the camera died before I could re-position and re-take.

Leave a Reply

