Skip to content

Empire of Grace and a New Bonnet For Me!

July 14, 2011

Well, I have finally done it!  Empire of Grace has now gone live (as they say), and my Etsy shop is now open for business.   I have posted five of my bonnets so far, three Empire/Regency bonnets and two Lincolnshire sunbonnets, and more will be added soon.

Empire/Regency bonnet

Lincolnshire sunbonnet

At the moment I am making a new bonnet…for myself!  This time, instead of piping then gathering, I have decided to make a rigid brim.  This will then be covered with fabric decorated with piping-cord in diagonal rows…a bit like these Costume Parisien examples from 1806 and 1807…

Costume Parisien 1806

 

Costume Parisien 1807

Last week I made a start on this new bonnet.  I began by stitching in two edging rows of piping cord between two layers of fabric.  Usually I would purchase a thick cord, and unravel the strands, but this time I wanted the cord to show, so stitched the rows in fairly snugly, as it would not be gathered.  

When I had finished these two rows, I started on the diagonals…but as I got about a third of the way along, I realised that I was going to have great trouble getting the last rows of piping cord in…so I cast it aside and started again!

How not to do it!

This time I started with the diagonals, and when these are finished then I will edge with the two rows of piping-cord all the way round.

Starting on the diagonals

The plan is to then to stitch this to a rigid base and…well, you will just have to wait and see how I get on in the next instalment, won’t you!  😉


4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 11:30 am

    You’re getting good at the Sandi. Well put together.

  2. July 14, 2011 11:34 am

    Thank you Mr B…practice makes perfect, and without the mistakes, how am I to learn what does and doesn’t work. It’s fun finding out…(except when I swear and cuss at something that I just cannot get right!!)

  3. July 29, 2011 12:16 pm

    Silly me! I have just realised that I would not have had to begin again if I had actually started in the corner and worked outwards!! DOH!!

  4. October 1, 2012 4:59 pm

    I was interested in your Lincolnshire bonnet pattern. We have started an archive of traditional local bonnets and patterns. Please visit the website for further details http://www.beinourbonnet.com. We would love to add the Lincolnshire bonnet to the website and keep a copy of the pattern in our archive.

Leave a Reply

