Skip to content

Jane Austen Festival Countdown

July 17, 2011

Promenading in Royal Crescent

Nine weeks to go and counting! 

I have no idea if we will be able to make it this year, but that is not going to stop me trying to get the costumes ready in time. 

The spencer I started to make last year was hurriedly ‘finished off’, and actually looked quite dreadful…so did I, but please ignore that! 

Dreadful spencer

The front, where it is gathered onto the waistband, is a problem area which makes me looks like a sack of potatoes!  A look that I really do not wish to cultivate…and Mrs Gummidge is definitely not a name I want to be saddled with!!!!

The sleeves definitely need re-doing, as the plan originally was to have a fuller sleeve with a piped strap and little button at the wrist, but I’m not as slim as I used to be and being under five feet in height…well, you know what I mean.

Now I’m thinking that a slightly slimmer sleeve will help to make me look a little less like that sack of potatoes!!

The next part to re-model is the collar.  Oh, I’m happy with the shape, but it was put together so quickly it doesn’t look quite right.  

Next for an update is the dress.  I really do want to make a new one, and am

Two ladies and a scruff!

currently working on a blue muslin drawstring gown.  The pattern I am using is Sense and Sensibility’s Elegant Lady’s Closet, and if this one works out OK, I will make another using the white embroidered cotton lawn that I purchased last year.

If I don’t have time, I will decorate the hem a bit more, maybe adding lace, frill or applique…who knows.  I really do want to be able to make the white dress though.

A new hat or bonnet is also required, as is a new reticule…maybe something like this…

Reticule

But first, Robert’s trousers need to be made…but that will be the subject of another blog.

Mr James



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

