Skip to content

Pictures That Inspire Me

July 18, 2011

Talking about ispiration in a previous post, I thought I’d share a few pictures of the costumes and accessories that inspire me…like this chemisette…

Chemisette (The Costume Institute)

I made my first chemisette after seeing this picture, but would love to make one with a double or triple frill. 

There are so many items that I want to make, and here are some more pictures that get my creative juices flowing…the only thing that stops me is lack of suitable fabrics, laces and trimmings…

A beautiful cap

This gown is just lovely.  I love the colours, and that turban/bandeau is also so gorgeous…

c1790 (LACMA)

I love this pretty evening gown of c1800.  Again, the colours (I seem to have a thing for creams, beiges, golds at the moment)…

c1800

This dress caught my interest because it appears to have a seperate bolero-style bodice/jacket worn over the top of the dress bodice.  I’m not sure if the sleeves are part of the dress or bodice, but it has given me some ideas…

1808-1812

I just love this gown because it’s pretty…

c1810

The same with this one…

Day dress (Bowes Museum)

This Blucher spencer and bonnet are very stylish, especially with the white dress…

Blucher sperncer and bonnet - June 1814

Any colour looks good with the white dress (just think of KCIs red spencer/white dress).  I love this this one too…

Spencer - 1815 (LACMA)


Another smart outfit…love the piped hem of the dress…

Ackerman 1818

This pelisse is attractive because it has a patterned bodice…and I love the colour…

Silk pelisse 1820 (V&A)

Reticules…I love ’em.  This one may be c1860, but there were so many styles and designs around…

Reticule c1860

This is a design that I have seen before, and will have a go at making myself…

Reticule c1810

I’ve always loved purple, and this redingote is very snazzy…

Redingote 1822/3

These are just a few of my favourite pictures, there are many more, so I will probably post some more another time. 

Now I must get back to my sewing…just under nine weeks to go to the Jane Austen Festival…!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2011 12:07 pm

    Is blogging about things that interest me really worth the effort?? No-one else seems to give a fig!

  2. September 29, 2011 3:35 pm

    That Ridingcote is Gorgeous. I need to go visit the V&A again…could spend all day in the fashion department.

    As for is blogging is worth it. Blog for yourself not to please others and you’ll always be content with what you post. I blog about my learning to clog dance and some of my posts have no ‘hits’ but its the few gems of advice I get posted on a few of the others that make it worth it. But I’d probably blog my progress anyway. Its the only way I keep perspective on my improvement since the time I started.

    • September 29, 2011 9:15 pm

      Sorry, I was on a real downer at the time I posted that. I felt that I was putting effort into writing blogs, but was not getting any feedback from anyone, and I usually do write about things as I make them to record my progress…but a little bit of feedback, now and then, goes a long way.

      As for these photos, I absolutely adore the c1790 gown…the colours are gorgeous. And the LACMAs spencer from the Fashioning Fashion book/exhibition is one that I would love to be able to copy.

  3. November 29, 2011 4:56 pm

    I wonder if I make my ‘turban’ extravagant enough no one will notice my poor dress making skills. 😉

Leave a Reply

