Skip to content

Sense and Sensibility Regency Gown Pattern – Part One

July 25, 2011

With less than eight weeks to go until this year’s Jane Austen Festival in Bath, I have been looking at my costume with a view to updating it.

Bath Abbey 2009

 

The first spencer I made, in cream satin, has served it’s purpose and now the back panel is split from the last time I wore it, at the Burghley House Battle Prom last year.  I guess I’ve put on weight!  😦 

For last year’s promenade I tried to make a new spencer, but I spent so much time working to get Robert’s costume done that I did not have time to do a proper job so it looked a real mess….

Hope this doesn't scare you off!!

 

After trying on my chemise and stays, prior to trying on the blue muslin dress that I’m working on, I have decided that I need to add a piece to the back, to stop the straps falling down before I proceed with anything else. 

The blue muslin dress is from Sense and Sensibility‘s Elegant Lady’s Closet pattern, the drawstring dress.  For some reason, I just launched into making this without first making a toile, so was not surprised to find that it did not fit properly when I tried it on!  Doh!  So I have now decided to try the S&S Regency Gown Pattern

A Regency Gown Pattern

 

I have made a start on the toile, in calico, and hope that this dress works out better with it’s back fastening, (I can go back to the drawstring dress after the promenade). 

It won’t matter too much what the bodice looks like, as I will be making a new spencer with matching hat or bonnet to go with it, and I will be happy just so  long as the skirt works out how I want it to. 

As for the colour of the spencer and hat/bonnet…I haven’t decided whether to stay with white and use gold decoration, or to go with a contrasting colour such as red, green, or even brown…decisions, decisions!!   

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 2:05 pm

    Rats I shall miss you again this year, I’ll be climbing Snowdonia. I shall look forward to seeing your photo’s.

    • July 26, 2011 3:38 pm

      Oh, Eileen!! Will take plenty of photos…and I look forward to seeing yours, too.

      There seem to be a lot of roads going to ARAF in N Wales…odd that…! 😉

Leave a Reply

