Skip to content

Regency Reticule

August 14, 2011

My bonnet for the promenade is finished…

Finished bonnet

…and the spencer is in progress, as are Robert’s trousers which I should be working on right now, but I’ve fallen in love with this reticule, and want to make one…now!

Reticule c1810

So out came the paper, cardboard, wadding and fabric, and I proceeded to work out the central shape.  Cardboard, wadding and fabric were then cut to shape…

Ready for construction

Once the cardboard had been covered, I piped the edges…

Shape covered and piped

Originally, I was going to use one strip of fabric to gather around the two shapes, but wanted to add a tassel (I love tassels!) and to decorate the seam somehow…(to be decided on later). 

Anyway, tassel in place and fabric gathered, I then had to attempt to sew it all together… 

Progress so far

Having almost finished sewing fabric to one shape, I soon realised that I am going to have problems when I stitch the other shape to it.  Solution?  Undo seam, gather and stitch fabric to other shape, then right sides together re-sew them together…

Two halves ready to become a reticule

But, another problem will be turning them right sides out!  OK…stitch most of the way round, but leave a section open either side at the top, then over-sew the edges…simples!  As the seam is going to be decorated it won’t matter.

I might post photos of the finished article before the promenade, but you will just have to wait and see, won’t you…  😉

11 Comments leave one →
  1. hilary donaldson permalink
    August 15, 2011 11:36 am

    shoudnt have any problem spotting you in your unique bonnet and reticule!

  2. August 15, 2011 11:42 am

    Looking forward to meeting you, Hilary…I just love the Promenade, it’s such a wonderful event! So many people in costume, so many puzzled looks as people wonder what is going on…I just LOVE it!! 🙂

  3. August 15, 2011 12:11 pm

    Wow Sandi, it looks fantastic!

  4. August 15, 2011 12:14 pm

    Thanks Eileen…gonna miss you, again, this year. Say ‘bore da’ to Snowdonia for me…X

  5. September 28, 2011 4:52 pm

    Stumbled upon you blog looking for pics of reticules…I want to make one as they look simple enough. Where did you find inspiration for yours from?

    • September 28, 2011 10:43 pm

      Hi LadyD…I have no idea where I found the picture of the c1810 reticule, but I’d seen one very similar, but with a rounded side shapes…and I wanted to have a go at making that too.

  6. February 16, 2012 10:40 pm

    Hi – I’ve been avidly researching Regency stuff so I can make an outfit – the reticule came from this vintage textile auction site, which provides STUNNING detail photos of the period items they sell. (I’ve been saving all photos of the various items I may use, for sewing inspiration.) By the way – was this one you made decorated further? I’d love to see photos of the decorated final product!

    http://vintagetextile.com/early.htm

    • February 17, 2012 10:47 am

      Hi Tracey
      There is a photo of the finished reticule in another blog post ‘My New Regency Spencer’ (September 2011)

      That website is a major time-thief, and I have saved no end of photots for inspiration for future projects! It is indispensable (not sure if spelling is correct, but can’t be bothered to go in search of my dictionary at the moment), as is Pinterest.

      The reticule didn’t quite work out as I’d expected, as far as the top and drawstring were concerned, so I will have to re-do it…but that’s just part of the fun of learning, isn’t it!

  7. March 28, 2012 4:02 am

    Looks lovely!!! The bonnet looks superb, and the reticule looks much prettier than some of the other “common” Regency reticules!

    • March 28, 2012 12:48 pm

      Thank you. I thought it would be a simple project to run up in an afternoon…how wrong was I??! 🙂

  8. July 31, 2012 3:33 am

    Just the other day, I spotted an original reticule of that same type on display at my local historical village! I also instantly decided to make one… 🙂

Leave a Reply

