Skip to content

Etsy Success!

October 26, 2011

Having opened my Etsy shop in June, I started to add the bonnets that I had been making.  First to go on were the three Empire/Regency inspired bonnets…two in cream spot fabric, and one in green cotton.  The inspiration came from the Costume Parisien fashion plates…

Bonnets 1812 

Next, I decided to add the Lincolnshire sunbonnets that I had made previously.  This then required me to add categories…Empire/Regency, and Victorian.  Later, when I have produced a few more items, I may add 18th century and Miscellaneous too. 

Anyway, on checking my e-mails on Monday afternoon I discovered…that I’d sold a bonnet!!  Yay!  I was over the moon, as I thought that it would never happen. 

This is the bonnet that has now gone to a new home in Germany…

I do hope that the buyer is happy with it…!

I now have a small pile of fabrics before me, green cotton, white cotton, and a lovely chocolate-brown that will probably go with a pale beige and white stripe that I had started some years ago.   There is not enough to make a complete bonnet, and I have no idea what became of the rest of it…oh well, I am sure I can concoct a confection that I can post in Miscellaneous!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 4:59 pm

    Didn’t know you had an etsy shop. Do you follow a commercial pattern or do it all from scratch?
    I’ve started trying to make a 1920’s cloche style hat.

    • October 26, 2011 9:24 pm

      No patterns used, I make it all up as I go along…not always getting it right I’m afraid. But I do learn from my mistakes, and hopefully new bonnets will be better bonnets.

      Good luck with the 1920s cloche style hat.

  2. anna permalink
    November 16, 2011 9:08 am

    Hello, I wanted to know if they sell cofani.ed cost as the one in the picture with the red ribbon.
    thanks
    anna italy

    • November 21, 2011 1:18 pm

      Hello Anna
      The bonnets that I make are all one-off items, but I will be making similar bonnets to the ones already made in the future.

Leave a Reply

