Skip to content

Sense and Sensibility Elegant Lady’s Closet Pattern…The Drawstring Dress (Part 1)

August 1, 2012

As previously mentioned, in another blog, I made a start on a dark blue muslin drawstring dress from The Elegant Lady’s Closet by Sense and Sensibility, but, for some reason, went straight into making it rather than making a calico toile, so was not surprised when it didn’t fit right. 

Sense & Sensibitity Elegant Lady’s Closet pattern

With the Jane Austen Festival (2011) approaching, I put this aside to work on Robert’s trousers and my new spencer, bonnet, and reticule…which actually got finished in plenty of time, with no panic involved!! 

Two weeks after the festival, I sewed the sleeves on, and tried it on again, over chemise and stays, but this time I pinned the cross-over pieces properly, without pulling it too tight…it fitted perfectly!! 

This dress has been made as per the instructions, so the cross-over pieces are only a single layer of hemmed fabric, which I think are a little bit too big…but I will reserve judgement until it’s finished.

As I now have a dress form, which I have padded to match my size as far as is possible, I can carry on and make the skirt without having to keep trying it on and wondering if it’s straight…which is one of the reasons why it has been put aside and (almost) forgotten about!

In Part 2 I will post pictures of progress so far, but as this years Jane Austen Festival is fast approaching, I have other items to make that are more important…like a couple of commissions for a friend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2012 1:02 pm

    wow I love your blog your brilliant! xxx Cat

  2. August 1, 2012 3:06 pm

    I really need a dress form, just wish I had room to store one. I always seem to be trying on my dress when there’s no one to help. So I’m guessing my hem is straight. So if you see a girl with a wonkey hemmed dress at Bath, that’ll be me. lol!

    • August 1, 2012 3:39 pm

      You have to be a contortionist, and have mirrors so you can see behind, which is why it has taken me so-o-o-o long to make just one item in the past. This will make things so much easier, plus saving me money on calico…so much used up on constantly tweaking toiles!

      We don’t really have much room, but it is necessary, believe me! Mine is called Mathilda. 😉

Leave a Reply

