Skip to content

From Regency to Steampunk!

February 12, 2013

Many years ago I worked at the Museum of Lincolnshire Life in Lincoln, where I was happy to discover a world of dressing-up to demonstrate traditional crafts.  How I wished, then, that Victorian dress patterns were available, and if they were…where could I find them!

Not quite front page news, but front cover of 100th Lincolnshire Show supplement

Not quite front page news, but front cover of 100th Lincolnshire Show supplement

Happily, today I can go online and find historical dress patterns for almost anything!

Part of the job involved sitting in the office for hours drawing and measuring new acquisitions, which I enjoyed, and one of the perks was seeing and  handling costume items…and doing some drawings for myself!  A while ago, I was wondering why I had these drawings, and when would I ever get to use them…more of that in a minute.

As mentioned in a previous blog, I discovered the world of Regency dressing-up, and the Jane Austen Festival, so I had a go at making my first Regency dress without a pattern.  Then came the discovery of patterns galore, other Regency enthusiasts, re-enacting (friends, not us), and through friends we met at the Jane Austen Festival…Steampunk! 

Actually, I had seen pictures of a Steampunk convivial in America, several years previously, and wished that we had something like that over here.  Imagine my surprise when we found out that we do…right here on our very doorstep!  The Asylum is held in Lincoln every September, and takes it’s name from The Lawn complex, which was originally built as an asylum!  😀 

We only made this discovery in September 2011, so missed that one, but last year we attended our first Asylum…and it was an awesome experience!!

Helen, looking divine

Helen, looking divine

Cecile and Simon looking suitably splendid!

Cecile and Simon looking suitably splendid!

So, now I am back to looking at Victorian fashions, and all those wonderful patterns that are available, as well as studying my old drawings, like these I did of open drawers…

Three pairs of Victorian drawers

Three pairs of Victorian drawers

I have now decided to open a new blog for my Victorian and Steampunk adventures, as Roundgowns and Reticules is mainly Empire/Regency.  Wish me luck, I may be some time…

The new blog is now up and running, and called Sandi by Gaslight.

No comments yet

Leave a comment